What the Hell is a “Balanced” Chakra?

When you receive a Reiki session, the practitioner’s goal is to “balance your chakras.” But what does this mean?

Chakras are centers of energy in the body. This energy is the Life Force that animates all living things. It is the difference between being alive and being dead.  The second a person dies, their body is still warm, but the Life Force has separated from the body; it has begun its transition towards a new and different realm of existence.

But, while we are alive, the Life Force within us has several central energy points, called chakras. There are many, many chakras. However, seven are commonly recognized: The root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the third eye, and the Crown chakra. Ideally, these energy centers are in perfect balance with one another. No one chakra is more important than any other. All are interdependent and necessary for life on the planet.

However, internal and external forces can affect our body’s Life Force. When we are sick or injured – physically, mentally, or emotionally – this can distort the flow of life energy in the body. Trauma – physical, emotional, and mental –  can cause areas of stagnation, or stuck energy. This stagnant energy can register as actual pain, or as something more subtle. Subtle, stuck energy can proceed to quietly damage the area of stagnation until, eventually, it manifests as a chronic emotional problem, or an area of limitation in one’s life.

For example, the root chakra controls our connection to the earth. It affects our ability to use the earth’s resources and our own inborn talents to make a living. It is most associated with ego, the survival instinct. If the root chakra is damaged and weak, a person’s life may be very out of balance.

The person with a weak root chakra may be highly spiritual and very sweet. But they may be unable to hold down a job, make a living, or thrive independently. An unhealthy root chakra can make someone incompetent at the skill of daily living. They might even become physically unhealthy, as their connection to the planet is often weak or dualistic. They subtly disdain the things of the earth in lieu of “heavenly” things. They embody that saying “He’s so spiritually minded, he’s no earthly good.”

On the other hand, a balanced root chakra is one in which the ego is healthy and strong. There is no perceived separation between spiritual matters and earthly matters. Making money is viewed neither as an obsession, nor as something to fear or push away. Money is, therefore, used for the benefit of the person’s physical and spiritual well-being. And, because they are healthy and balanced, they can turn around and help others. They can be a beneficial presence on the planet, and not a burden.

People are negatively affected when the chakras are out of alignment. Each of the chakras has a pathology if they are not all balanced and integrated with one another. There is no “good” and “bad” in the natural order. The “higher” chakras (heart, throat, third eye, and crown chakras) are not better than the “lower” chakras (root, sacral, and solar plexus). All are one. All are necessary. All must be in flow and communication with one another.

Aside from receiving a Reiki attunement by a practitioner, you can balance your own chakras through meditation. If there are areas in your life you recognize as being “stuck,” you owe it to yourself to give those areas the love and attention they deserve.

You’ll be glad you did!

Peace and love,



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s